constant God //

I absolutely adore pretty planners. Or really just any planners at all, but the designer in me gushes over the hand lettered fonts and watercolor doodles. On top of that, the bit of OCD that runs in my blood so appreciates the symmetry and attention to detail. Even beyond the aesthetically pleasing portion, I live for the concept of being able to write everything down in my color-coordinated system and plan everything. 

 

I have no doubt the good Lord above is laughing on His throne right now. I’m convinced that the simple idea of me attempting to plan my life is a hilarious joke to Him. 

 

As I glance through my planner, I find plenty of events arrowed over and crossed out. That’s because my goodness gracious does life change so quickly. Emotions, passions, plans are all changing with the wind. 

 

The only thing constant is God. 

 

When I was 13, my life changed real quick. My good God took my brother in the blink of an eye. And guess what? He was still good. At the time, I didn’t get it. Now, though, I am thankful for His plan prevailing over mine. If Blake were still here, I might never know how desperate I am for God’s strength. 

 

“The Lord is righteous in all his ways and faithful in all he does.” // Psalms 145:17

 

Throughout high school, everything seemed to change all the time. Nothing significant was ever different, which I appreciated because I thrive in routine. But as a high school girl, my friends and emotions never seemed to be the same, until I laid it at God’s feet. Now, what do ya know, I have friends that I can laugh, cry & worship hard with. I also have a solid foundation and firm confidence in myself because the Creator of the whole earth also created me, flaws and all. 

 

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” // James 1:17 

 

In about two seconds (actually about two weeks, but it feels like two seconds), my life is going to change again. As I leave the safety, comfort, and routine that I’ve known for 18 years, I am focusing on my unchanging Savior. 

 

"Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” // Hebrews 13:8 

 

The same God who carried me through the death of my brother is going to be at work in the next chapter of my life and then forever and ever amen. Life is unpredictable, no matter how much I try to plan it to turn out how I think is best. Luckily, while life is changing and sometimes feels like it’s falling apart, He is perfectly putting the pieces together. He is always faithful and good.

 

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” // Jeremiah 29:11