to the girl considering tulip court //

To the girl considering saying yes to a Tulip Court nomination, 

 

If you’re wrestling with the idea of maybe accepting a Tulip Court nomination, I know the feeling. I’ve been where you are & it’s kind of a scary place! I remember feeling terrified to put myself out there for fear of rejection, but also worried about regretting it forever if I didn’t at least give it a try. Girl, I get you. It’s hard. 

 

But seriously, just do it. 

 

I know this sounds so cliche, but Tulip Court was hands down one of the best experiences of my life. I’m so thankful for the opportunity I had to give back to a town that made me who I am. The best part is, I got to do it with four other girls that I love so dearly & who love Pella just as much as I do. 

 

I vividly remember the Queen’s Announcement Party (let’s call that QAP so I don’t have to write it out bunches haha) last November. I was super duper emotionally exhausted that day. In the week leading up to that, I had experienced so many different emotions between excitement & sadness of state volleyball & the anticipation of the QAP. Then I felt stress as I realized I’d be “competing” (I hate that word because it didn’t feel that way at all!!) for the Tulip Court starting in less than 24 hours. And then I felt super anxious at the thought of getting up to speak in front of so many people! But I also felt so supported by my family, friends, & the other 11 absolutely amazing girls at the QAP. The feeling I remember most was relief as I walked off stage from my last portion of the night, in awe that I had overcome a fear of mine!!

 

Then I felt ALL. THE. EMOTIONS. at once as I stood backstage with the other 4 court members, having just found out that we were the 2017 Tulip Time Royal Court. We hugged & smiled (A LOT) & nearly cried, jumping up & down oozing with excitement over the fact that we were going to make so many good memories together. 

 

And wowee, were we so right! 

 

Throughout my time on the Tulip Court, I have made such fun memories with my 4 new friends, our court moms, our families, our sister court (love our oc girls so much), queens & courts of the past (their support is incredible), & so many more. I gained the deepest appreciation for my sweet little town & the passionate people who put so much time & effort into Tulip Time. Seriously, they don’t get nearly the thanks they deserve -- they are simply amazing. 

 

I also learned a lot about myself. I learned how to balance a busy schedule. I learned lots of social skills & how to hold meaningful conversations with new faces. I learned that sleep should always be prioritized. I learned that Pella has some of the best food ever (if anyone wants my school address to send in’t veld’s & ulrich's crackers & cheese curds & van veen chocolates, let me know!!!). 

 

Most of all though, I learned that God will always put you in the position he wants you in. I’m so lucky to have had the opportunity to represent a town that I love so much. I always say that I was able to give back just a piece of the love & support that the Pella community has shown my family & me. It also gave me a platform to share God’s goodness, which is what He’s called us all to do. His plan, while it wasn’t what I could have even imagined planning for myself, was so very sweet. 

 

That being said, I so strongly encourage any & every girl considering saying “YES!!” to a nomination to do so. It’s such a special experience to have the opportunity to be a part of & I promise you won’t regret it. God’s plan for your life is incredible & this might be a part of it. You won’t know if you don’t try!! 

 

xo, 

Queen Halle 

 

(Sidenote: Crying looking through all of our pictures & CANNOT BELIEVE that *official* time with my court is almost over. This has been the time of my life!!)