you can't do all the things //

 

First of all, I want to say how darn thankful I am to have people in my life who love me enough to speak truth over me when I need to hear it. This week, I have needed to hear it! (Yeah I know it’s only Tuesday. Thanks.). 

 

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve written (or even posted) anything about my life, so I need to give y’all a super quick life update (but hmu if you want more details about my life because it’s honestly pretty exciting right now). I’m currently in my second year at Northwestern College. And let me tell ya, I am STRESSED. I am working a handful of jobs, have gotten involved in several things on campus & fill my free time with coffee dates (any takers??). Oh, also still a full time student. So there’s that. 

 

These are all great things!! I kid you not, I am loving life so much that I feel like I haven’t stopped smiling in like at least 4 weeks. Probably more. But I am tired & I am starting to feel myself get worn out. My word for this year is intentional, meaning that I want to be more purposeful in getting to know people well & pursuing all the good things. But the thing is, I can’t do this to the best of my ability when I’m running on empty. 

 

Maybe the same is true for you. You’re constantly pouring yourself out into your work or your relationships or something else. But what happens when your cup is empty & you have nothing left to pour? We must position ourselves under the faucet so that we are constantly being filled. We have to be willing to take time away from the busyness of life to rest & be renewed by God. And He is so good that He will do just that! 

 

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” // Matthew 11:28

 

This can look so many ways -- praying, reading, creating. Y’all, this can be a holy nap. But whatever it is, position yourself under the faucet to be filled by Him. 

 

This week, I encourage you to start saying no. If you’re feeling overwhelmed, don’t agree to do everything that people ask of you. I promise they will understand. I’m a people pleaser, so I have a really hard time doing this. But I am very thankful for the people in my life who make me say no every once in a while. The other day, my roommate told me “You have to inhale in order to exhale.” ARE YOU KIDDING? Why is she always so right?? Praise the Lord for her. Or yesterday, I was thankful for my boyfriend who made me chill & eat some popcorn & m&ms (my favorite haha) & just breathe for like 10 minutes. I needed that. Or today, one of my professors taught a whole class period on stress & made the entire class say "no" out loud twice. Like ok God, I get it. I see you telling me to slow down.

 

Sacrifices are a necessity if you want margin in your life for God to work. 

 

Be willing to take time doing nothing so that you can be prepared to do something. You can’t do all the things, but you can do big things. I’m praying that over you this week. 

 

P.S. I’m serious about coffee dates. Or ice cream or lunch or crafts or just meet to talk. Facetime has also become my best friend lately, so we can do that if you’re not in northwest Iowa. Let me know if you wanna be friends. I already know I’m going to like you. 

 

P.P.S. (Is that a thing? Is now if it wasn’t already.) Is there anything else I can be praying for you this week? Pretty please let me know!