God is good // Baja 2016


Friends, our God is so good. I wish that you could all experience firsthand His love + faithfulness the way I have this summer. Since that’s impossible, I wish I could send it to you through this post. I can’t quite do that either, but I’m going to try my very best. 

 

For the fourth year in a row, I traveled down to La Misión, Mexico in June. Having been on this trip multiple times before, I was ready + knew what to expect. Woah, did God prove me wrong! His plan was so much better (as always). There were so many incredible ways that God worked during our week in Mexico. I wish I could tell everyone’s story, but I can’t, so I encourage you to ask any of us about it! What I can do is tell you my part of the story. 

 

When I first met the two families that we built houses for this year, I was very thankful to find out that they had kids. I’ve always been really good at being with the little ones. This year, I even came prepared with bubbles, toys + chalk. I became quick friends with the most precious little girl -- Emily. I spent our first day on site playing a lot of Barbies. Then, in the middle of mermaid Barbie’s outfit change, Emily’s shot up + said “pepe,” letting me know that she needed to go potty + she needed to go now. Minda, Emily’s grandmother, showed me where to bring her. This small trip to the potty changed my trip, + maybe even my life. A little while later, Minda invited  Jamie Chapman, who I am so happy to have shared this experience with, + I in to see her house. She was so proud of it! Then, she started asking questions + we got to know each other. Leslie, Minda’s daughter-in-law + Emily’s mother (who would be moving into the house we were building soon), eventually joined us. The rest is history. (Not really, but you get the point.)

 

The next morning, Minda asked Jamie + me if we would like to help her make tortillas. Of course, we said yes. At one point during this time, Minda started to tell us how grateful she is that God sent us to give a house to her son’s family. The three of us stood in the kitchen, hugging + crying. 

 

Throughout the week, we did lots of cooking. When I realized that Leslie + Minda had probably never made cookies, we decided that needed to happen. Thanks to the help of a few guys, we were able to get ingredients + a recipe to bake the best sugar cookies the next morning. We then learned how to make tamales. Although, please don’t ask me to make those anytime soon. They are quite a bit of work + mine would NEVER be as good as Minda’s! We also spent time looking at family scrapbooks that Minda had. We took turns showing pictures on our phones. I told the three of them about myself, my family, school, town + so much more. As someone said on the trip, we did things that a family did. 

 

Another thing I want to point out is that none of them spoke any English. By the end of the week, I had taught Minda a few words + phrases, all of which she was very proud of. I must say, I am very thankful for my Spanish teachers + the little bit I could communicate + help translate. However, it blew my mind how God provided for us + the language wasn’t a problem. HE ALWAYS PROVIDES, FRIENDS! 

 

As our trip was nearing the end, it got very emotional. On our last morning together, a group of us were sitting in the living room + Minda asked if we would pray for them. We did + it quickly turned into many more tears. In those short moments, God was so present. Our little family stood huddled in the living room, sobbing + praying + thanking Him. It was incredible. 

 

Later that afternoon, I was asked to give the house keys to the family. This is something that I was so honored to do. However, I wasn’t about to say anything in front of everyone. I was already a mess of tears from the morning, so I planned on just giving the family their keys + a hug. God had another plan, though. My sweet friend Michaela turned to me before the house dedication + said, “Just say whatever is on your heart.” Thinking that’d be nothing, I nodded back. When God tells you to do something, though, you just do it -- so I did. I could hardly get words out because I was crying so hard, but I did. And then, I handed Leslie the key to their new home + we once again all cried + hugged. It was a mix of happy + sad tears. Happy because of the memories we had made together, but sad because we all knew what came next. A short while later, I basically had to be drug away from their house. We all promised each other it wasn’t goodbye, but see you soon. Right before I left, I gave Minda one more hug + she said this to me: 

 

You are a blessing. Study hard. Do well in everything. Pray a lot. And I’ll be waiting for you. 

 

 

I’m sorry this post is going on for forever, but thanks for sticking with me until now. My point is, God is so good. He really is, even when it’s hard for us to see or understand. I’m so thankful for Minda, Leslie + Emily. God used them to show me His goodness once again + in doing so, He made them part of my family. I absolutely can’t wait to see them again next June!! When something is happening in your life that doesn't make sense, trust God. He's working your life out in better ways than you can even imagine. It probably won't be easy, but we have a Savior who promises that it'll be worth it. 

 

Trust in the Lord with all your heart + lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, + He will make your paths straight. // Proverbs 3:5-6

 

If for some crazy reason you aren’t sick of hearing about my trip yet, I made a video!! It, like this post, is probably longer than it should be. It shows a little bit of every awesome thing I mentioned + then some. It helps put faces to names, which is the most important part. This is a real story, these are real people, + we’re all serving a real God. I’ll really quit now, but I could go on for days so please ask me about my trip if you want to hear more! I would love to share. 

 

Blessings, 

Hal  

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Susan VG (Sunday, 07 August 2016 21:00)

    BEAUTIFUL!! Thanks for sharing Halle (& to Nana for sharing it). Blessings!