year in review //

Hey there, friends!! First of all, happy holidays! Second of all, we’re so happy you’re here & reading about our year. I had no problem writing this post because it’s so easy to talk about my family! I could go on for a long while (& I probably will). Anyways, let’s get right to it. Here’s the Van Vark’s year in review: 

 

Wade & Hilary: Dad is still working at Pella High School, but in a little bit of a different role. This year, he is serving as the dean & instructional coach (or something like that). He recently moved into a new (& very nice) office. He has a table in there, which is a perfect place for my friends & me to enjoy our lunch! Dad is still coaching basketball as the girl’s varsity assistant coach. It has been fun for him to coach a handful of the seniors all the way through high school. This summer, dad also helped coach the freshman baseball team. I’m convinced he just can’t say away from the ball field! Dad told me that another proud accomplishment of his this year has been fathering the Tulip Queen, to which I rolled my eyes. He really is looking forward to all the events he is allowed to go to in the upcoming year. Mom is now working in the surgical department at Pella Regional Health Center. This year, she also spent a chunk of time recovering from a broken hip. Running through the pain in a half marathon isn’t always the best idea! She’s now fully recovered for the most part. Some of mom’s favorite memories this year have been the exciting travels. She & dad went to Mexico & the Ozarks with their friends this year. I still keep hoping the boys & I will be invited one of these days...

 

Halle: Oh, that’s me. This year has certainly been a list topper for me. My year was full of traveling, so that was definitely a highlight. I made it to New York City, Colorado Springs, & La Misión this year. During basketball season, I managed the varsity girls. It was fun to spend lots of time with my dad, and the girls welcomed me in as part of the team! We placed second in state & let me tell ya, filling water bottles up is a lot more fun at the Well (Wells Fargo Arena)! My volleyball team also played in the state championship! Two second place finishes in a year isn’t too bad, & for sure created some of my favorite high school memories. The day after our last volleyball game, I participated in the Tulip Queen’s Announcement Party, where I was crowned (but not officially, of course -- that doesn’t happen until May) the 2017 Royal Tulip Queen! I. WAS. SHOCKED. But very excited, nonetheless. My court & I have already had so much fun together & absolutely can’t wait for the fun (& very busy) year we have ahead of us. I’d love to see you ALL at Tulip Time this year...mark your calendars for May 4, 5 & 6! 

 

Noah: Well, this was the year that Noah really grew up. He seriously got huge, no joke. He currently has at least 2 inches on me & a whole lotta muscle. One of his favorite hobbies is Crossfit. I’ll never forget the day he got his first muscle up. As one of his Crossfit goals, it was a pretty big deal at the Van Vark household & Noah was pretty pumped about it. Noah also was pulled up to play his first season of high school baseball on the freshman team & even threw a no-hitter! I loved going to his games & watching him play. He also was usually nice enough to take cute pictures with T & me afterwards, so that was a bonus. Also this summer, he spent a week in Canada with Nana & Papa & cousin Izaak. I was super jealous because I couldn’t go this year (I went last year), but the boys had a lot of fun & they’re much better fishermen! Noah started high school this fall & loves seeing me at school all the time (or maybe he just likes that I can drive him to school)!!!! A couple months ago, Noah finally said goodbye to his braces & hello to neat, straight teeth. He recently started basketball, too, and is staying pretty busy with a lot of morning practices! 

 

Tate: Tate, what a guy! Contrary to popular belief, he hasn’t been any less busy than the rest of us this year. In fact, he’s probably been more busy. He gets drug along to all the games & events. Although he might not admit it, I know he loves it. T enjoyed playing baseball outside the fence during Noah’s games. On top of that, he played on a team of his own & it’s for sure his favorite sport. He also loved running in & out of the dugout to talk to Dad & the boys. With the success of PHS’s sports lately, T really does go from one sport to another. I think he was more excited about a state volleyball than anyone else! This year, T is a first grader & absolutely loves his teacher, learning, & reading. I mean, he really loves reading. Sometimes, he’ll sit in the corner of the gym at basketball practice & read out loud to himself. It’s adorable, but so unlike Noah & me! Tate wanted me to add that his favorite show is Lab Rats. If you’re ever in need of a good laugh, be sure to find T! He keeps us on our toes & laughing all the time. 

 

Einstein & Veronica: Our beloved (on most days) boxer pups. Their highlight of the year has easily been getting new beds. They now can enjoy movie nights with the fam without getting yelled at for being wild. Einstein, our pup we rescued a little over a year ago, has finally tamed down. We are realizing that he’d like to be a lap dog, but he’s way too big. 

 

Family: We’ve clearly had quite an exciting year! Another incredible thing that’s happened this year was the opening of Blake’s field. This one’s been a long time coming, so it was so awesome to see it finally happen. As I’m sure you all know, in May of 2012, the Korver Family & Seer Outfitters (Kyle’s Foundation) donated a bunch of merchandise. And I mean A BUNCH. We all set up a store at Tulip Time & all the proceeds from the shirts went to the Pella Sports Complex to build a field in Blake’s name. This year, our family attended the grand opening of the complex. T got to throw out the first pitch & Noah caught it. It’s such a special place & memory that Blake would be so proud of. This year has been full of so many highs, as well as lows. Through it all, though, we’ve seen the goodness of God. We’d like to wish you all the happiest of holidays, surrounded by all the people you love. We’re also praying that each of you have a 2017 filled with more blessings than you can comprehend. Merry Christmas, friends!

 

With love, 

The Van Vark Family 

 

Write a comment

Comments: 3
  • #1

    Dave and Jan Bensink (Tuesday, 20 December 2016 16:32)

    What a wonderful account of your year. God Bless you and your family. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas.

  • #2

    Chuck & Esther (Tuesday, 20 December 2016 16:39)

    Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! So excited for your family to enjoy Tulip Time this year. Congratulations to Halle and the whole family.

  • #3

    John & Bev (Wednesday, 21 December 2016 18:09)

    Thanks for sharing the highlights of 2016 with us. Congrats on being Tulip Queen. We are sure you will enjoy 2017. Merry Christmas to you and your entire family!!!