twenty seventeen //

At the beginning of every year, I tell myself I’ll be better. Every year, I find myself abandoning that promise. The pattern tends to be “new year, same me”. BUT THIS YEAR’S GOING TO BE DIFFERENT! I say that every year too, but this year’s looking really promising. For starters, I kicked my year off tagging along with a group of 380 college kids to Atlanta for the Passion Conference. Standing in an arena with 60,000 millennials worshiping with their whole being to the One who created us left me completely awestruck. Seriously, to anyone who says there’s no hope for our generation, I can tell you that’s completely false. We’re going to change the world and I can’t wait. 

 

Anyways, the point of this post is not at all to brag on us 90’s kids, though I could go on. Instead, I’m going to share my new year’s resolutions. I don’t know how I really feel about resolutions, but I definitely believe in creating new habits that God has put on your heart. So call it what you want, but I so desired for my daily life to be different. My life is going to be absolutely crazy this year and I anticipate a whole bunch of changes. It’s going to be great, but I also have to remember to stay focused through all of it. My goals this year are to keep my eyes on what’s important and challenge myself. Alright alright, here they are: 

  • Read the whole Bible: Going on to study ministry next year (or later this year, I guess!!!), this is something I really want to do! Also, there’s literally no better way to learn more about God. 
  • Make new friends: Hopefully, this’ll be an easy one! With the many experiences I have ahead of me this year, including college, I’m expectant that God will place some valuable souls in my path and I’m so excited for that. 
  • Only love: It’s easy to get caught up in worldly things, but God simply tells us to love our neighbor. Sounds easy enough, but I know this one will challenge me! 
  • Pursue Jesus: I don’t mean say a prayer as I fall asleep before bed. I mean, with everything that I am, I want to long for more of Him every second of every day. 
  • Send more letters: You’ve probably heard already, but I adore nothing more than a handwritten letter. There’s something so tender about delicate notes written with sweet emotions. I’m want to start telling people more often that I appreciate them, even if it’s just because. 
  • Use less social media: I admit it, this is a problem for me. I am on my phone way too much and it’s a problem. I focus too much on number of likes and followers. I’m realizing how utterly unimportant all of that is. I’ve wasted so much time on my phone that I could’ve spent in my Bible. That needs to change. 
  • Smile more: For obvious reasons. 
  • Start and finish a reading list: This one calls for some help. I need suggestions!! My list right now consists of a handful of gems (listed below) that I can’t wait to dig into, but I need a solid list. So please, share with me your favorites. I’m begging you! 
    • In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day - Mark Batterson
    • Hope Heals - Jay and Katherine Wolfe (they spoke at Passion and were absolutely incredible, so I’m really excited about this one) 
    • Dateable - Hayley DiMarco and Justin Lookadoo
    • Fervent - Priscilla Shirer
    • Uninvited - Lysa TerKeurst
    • Present Over Perfect - Shauna Niequist
  • Visit somewhere new: I’ve been struck with wanderlust, so I plan on taking any chance at all that I have to travel. Our God just created so many beyond beautiful places. 
  • Go on walks: Because why not appreciate the beauty God’s placed right where I’m at? 
  • Start and end every day with Jesus: This one already has made life so much better. It’s absolutely incredible what 10 short minutes with God can do to your whole day. 

So now you all have a little bit of an idea what I’ll be up to this year, I’d love to hear about other resolutions you might have so I can add to my list. 

 

Blessings to you all in this new year! 

Write a comment

Comments: 0