takes a village //

It takes a village to raise a child is how the saying goes. Actually, though, it takes a little Dutch town & then some. 

 

But seriously, y'all. The month of May has been SO filled with flowers & sunshine -- literal & figurative. We've had so much to celebrate. Yes, it's been absolutely nutso busy, but so worth it. The other day, we finished the celebrations with my graduation party. Today, I'm sitting here with tired eyes & the fullest heart. I just can't get over how beyond blessed I am to be surrounded by the sweetest souls. There are bunches of people that deserve the biggest thanks for everything they've done for me. I'm being completely honest when I say I wouldn't be who I am today without so many pouring into me over the past 18 years. 

 

As I’m trying to put it into words, I’m quickly realizing that all the thank you notes in the world wouldn’t be enough. How do you thank someone who continually reminded you that their door was always open if you simply needed to talk? Or dear friends who literally bolted into town to see you for no more than 5 minutes during the busiest weekend of your life? Or teachers who encouraged you, believed in you, and saw potential in you before you even saw it in yourself? What about the family of your brother’s best friend who still has your family over for dinner, 5 years after your brother died? Or aunts & uncles & cousins who treat you & love you like one of their own & genuinely mean it? Or a youth pastor who makes you feel like she’d drop the world to meet up if you ever needed anything at all? Or parents who helped show you, amidst all of the craziness, what’s most important? There’s no way give anyone the thanks they deserve. 

 

Except maybe to pass it on. 

 

In not too long, I’ll be leaving a town that I love so much to go to college. This community has taught me to wave to strangers, give generously, enjoy good baseball, have high standards, & most importantly love others & love Jesus. This community has supported & loved my family & me in the hardest months of our lives. This community saw something in me that I didn’t see in myself & gave me a chance to do something I never even dreamed of. As I got the chance to represent Pella, I grew to appreciate my precious little Dutch town even more. 

 

This fall, I will be attending Northwestern College in Orange City, Iowa to major in youth ministry. My dream is to pour into high school students like so many have done to me. From one small Dutch town to another, I hope to live out all that I’ve learned from my friends, family, & community. I’m going to share what so many genuine hearts have taught me. 

 

So, yes, I had a graduation party to celebrate me graduating from high school. But it was really a party to celebrate everyone who has contributed to who I am today. To those of you that made it, thank you from the bottom of my heart. It was such a fun day for me & I hope you enjoyed it too! And to those of you who couldn’t, I love you and appreciate you just the same.